Halloween update

Before I get to the history of butter and the Dakota and Screamo (and believe me, I will) I just thought I’d come clean about something here, something Halloween-related, appropriately enough.

Some months ago, my older daughter had decided to be a mime for Halloween, which was recounted here in all its hilarity, but unfortunately the stress of getting the right kind of stripey shirt (which I predicted) got the better of us.

What I’m getting at is that there will be no mimes here this evening. I thought it was important to follow up on this, just as I once wrote an email to Gary Shteyngart telling him that though I had initially thought he wasn’t funny, I had made a terrible mistake, and he was, in fact, very funny. (He replied back very graciously.) I couldn’t have you thinking that a mime was wandering around Columbia County on Halloween night.

And thus: There will be a witch in place of the mime. I’m not going to say that I was completely psyched that my daughter came up with this new idea on her own (easiest! costume! ever!)—no, actually that is exactly what I’m going to say.

Whiskers to be added shortly


The greatest success this Halloween, however, was actually turning my younger daughter’s cat costume from last year into this year’s mouse costume. And really what I mean is the ears. This seemed like such an easy thing to do until yesterday evening as I stood in the middle of Target completely baffled.

But then my older daughter, whose craftiness surpassed mine many years ago, knew precisely what to do and she was precisely right.

And thus, at 8:30 last night, with two gray socks and two pink socks and all three of us taking turns sewing, cat ears became mouse ears. And better still my younger daughter was absolutely delighted with them.

And therefore I can assure you that a mouse and a witch will be trick-or-treating in Columbia County tonight. And that if they find over the next few days that their mini-Snickers bars seem to be disappearing from their bags they will not say a word.

Leave a comment