Everything I’m saying happened last week

A long time ago my friend Eric told me about a conversation he’d had with his friend Ken. Eric said, “Did you know that there was some guy who was actually hit by lightning three times?” Ken replied, “Why didn’t he just go inside?”

Years later I repeated this story to some guy in a coffee shop. The guy said (and I quote), “I don’t think that’s very funny.” And that was pretty much the end of that.

It’s baffling, isn’t it, when someone doesn’t share your sense of humor? I mean, obviously not everyone is going to find the same things funny as you do. Yet ever since that troubling experience in the coffee shop I have used that simple exchange between Eric and Ken to gauge if someone else and I really could get along. The point is, it wasn’t a particularly hilarious thing to say (though in general Ken was hilarious), but it just struck me as so basic. And if someone couldn’t appreciate something as basic as that, well, I didn’t think we could proceed much further.

Which leads me to this:

If I am ever feeling despairing, this is where I always end up. For me, this particular clip falls under the category of something that gets funnier every single time you watch it. (At this point a certain friend of mine merely has to say “Rock lyrics…” and I start laughing.)

And I’m not going to say that if you don’t find this funny I’m not going to like you. But if we start here, I’d say there’s a good chance we can proceed.

Leave a Reply

